By 27th January 2015NEWS

FIA President Jean Todt and Formula 1 legend John Surtees crowned the 2014 MSA British Champions during the Night of Champions ceremony in London on Saturday (24 January).

Alan Gow, Chairman of the Motor Sports Association (MSA), welcomed the winners of UK motor sport’s most prestigious titles to the Royal Automobile Club on Pall Mall for the annual awards evening. They were joined by a series of special award winners, each recognised for outstanding achievement throughout the past year.

Todt, who leads world motor sport’s governing body, took the opportunity to praise the breadth and depth of UK motor sport, while paying tribute to the MSA’s efforts to promote road safety messages in support of the FIA Action for Road Safety campaign.

Surtees, the only world champion on two wheels and four, entertained guests by recollecting the 50th anniversary celebrations of his 1964 F1 title.

Respected broadcaster Steve Rider returned as Master of Ceremonies and was joined by long-time colleague Louise Goodman.

Alan Gow, MSA Chairman, said: “The MSA Night of Champions is always a great occasion and a highlight of the domestic motor sport calendar. But the evening is not ours; it is our champions’ night and we were delighted to welcome them to the Royal Automobile Club to celebrate their achievements and successes. We were also honoured to have our FIA President, Jean Todt, with us throughout the evening and thank him for his contribution to such a special occasion.”

The Champions honoured on the night were:

MSA British Cadet Kart Championship: Teddy Wilson
MSA British Short Circuit Kart Championship: Henry Easthope
MSA British Long Circuit Kart Championship: Paul Platt
MSA British Autotest Championship: Richard Pinkney
MSA British Car Trial Championship: Mark Hoppe
MSA British Sporting Trials Championship: John Fack
MSA British Drag Racing Championship: Andy Robinson
MSA British Sprint Championship: Colin Calder
MSA British Hill Climb Championship: Scott Moran
MSA British Rallycross Championship: Julian Godfrey
MSA British Cross Country Championship: Mike Moran and Tony Coid
MSA British Historic Rally Championship: David Stokes and Guy Weaver
MSA British Junior Rally Championship: Gus Greensmith
MSA British Manufacturers Rally Championship: Citroen UK
MSA British Rally Championship: Daniel McKenna and Arthur Kierans
British GT Championship: Marco Attard
British Formula 3 Championship: Hong Wei Cao
MSA British Touring Car Championship Manufacturer: MG
MSA British Touring Car Championship: Colin Turkington

There was also a series of special awards:

JLT MSA Club of the Year: Solway Car Club
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Overall: Richard Ashton
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Marshal: Karen Kearns
FIA Best Marshal: Lynne Kenall
Renault MSA Young Journalist of the Year: Scott Mitchell
Renault MSA Young Photographer of the Year: Adam Pigott
BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy: Claire Williams
RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year: Sam Bilham